National Poetry Month Wrap-Up

April, in case you didn’t know, was National Poetry Month. I’m afraid I only remembered that on March 31, so I didn’t have time to prepare much in the way of poetry-related blog posts. So instead, I decided to tweet a poem every day in April. Here’s the full list:

April 1: “The Windhover” by Gerard Manley Hopkins

IMG_5o9pyg
From the Penguin Classics edition of Hopkins’s Poems and Prose.

April 2: “O Taste and See” by Denise Levertov

IMG_2d3lsr
From the Norton Anthology of Poetry, which is outrageously expensive to buy new. Here’s Levertov’s Collected Poems instead.

April 3: “Love (III)” by George Herbert

For Herbert’s 424nd birthday, I decided to go with this gem.

Find this in Herbert’s Complete Poetry.

April 4: “Veni Creator” by Czeslaw Milosz

From The Poetry Foundation.

April 5: “Entrance” by Rainer Maria Rilke (translated by Dana Gioia)

From 99 Poems by Dana Gioia.

April 6: “Kitchenette Building” by Gwendolyn Brooks

Find this one in Brooks’s Selected Poems.

April 7: “Manifesto: The Mad Farmer Liberation Front” by Wendell Berry

Of course, the whole poem is much too long for me to share in screenshots on Twitter, so I just shared this excerpt of it.

Originally published here.

April 8: “If I can stop one heart from breaking” by Emily Dickinson

From Barnes and Noble’s Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson

April 9: Holy Sonnet X: “Death be not proud” by John Donne

From Donne’s Complete English Poems.

April 10: “A Birthday” by Christina Rossetti

 

From The Complete Poems

April 11: “Words” by Dana Gioia

My favorite poem by one of my favorite living poets.

From 99 Poems.

April 12: “Sky Song” by Robert Desnos (translated by Don Paterson)

From Rain by Don Paterson.

April 13: “Lightenings XII” by Seamus Heaney

One of my favorite Heaney poems, for what would have been his 78th birthday.

From the collection Seeing Things.

April 14: “Hymn to God, My God, in My Sickness” by John Donne

Because April 14 was Good Friday, I wanted something appropriate for the day. But, since I knew that everyone and his brother was going to be tweeting Donne’s “Good Friday, 1613, Riding Westward,” I instead went with this excerpt of his “Hymn to God My God in My Sickness,” which is one of my favorite poems addressing the Crucifixion.

Also from Donne’s Complete English Poems.

April 15: “Small Prayer in a Hard Wind” by Christian Wiman

From Wiman’s Hammer Is the Prayer.

April 16: “Resurrection” by John Donne

From Donne’s sonnet sequence La Corona.

The Complete English Poems.

April 17: “The Gift” by Li-Young Lee

From the collection Rose.

April 18: “The Song of Wandering Aengus” by W. B. Yeats

From The Collected Poems of W. B. Yeats.

April 19: “Envy of Other People’s Poems” by Robert Hass

Find this in Hass’s Time and Materials.

April 20: “The Eagle” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson

From the Oxford World Classics edition of Tennyson’s Major Works.

April 21: “The day is gone, and all its sweets are gone” by John Keats

Find this in Keats’s collected poems.

April 22: Excerpt from Macbeth, Act 2, Scene 2

From my big heavy leatherbound edition of Shakespeare’s complete works. It looks nice on a shelf, but for reading, you’re better off getting something with notes and line numbers.

April 23: Sonnet 116 by William Shakespeare

For Shakespeare’s birthday/anniversary of death.

Find this in Shakespeare’s Sonnets.

April 24: “In My Craft or Sullen Art” by Dylan Thomas

From Thomas’s Collected Poems.

April 25: “Pelt” by Paul Muldoon

From Selected Poems: 1968-2014.

April 26: “As kingfishers catch fire” by Gerard Manley Hopkins

From Hopkins’s Poems and Prose.

April 27: “Ozymandias” by Percy Bysshe Shelley

Find this in Shelley’s Selected Poems and Prose.

April 28: “Backward Miracle” by Kay Ryan

I got this from the October 2002 issue of Poetry magazine, but it’s also in Ryan’s The Best of It: New and Selected Poems.

April 29: “Ithaka” by C. P. Cavafy

On the occasion of Cavafy’s 154th birthday.

Find this in Cavafy’s Complete Poems. (Different translator, but Keeley’s book appears to be out of print.)

April 30: “Pure beauty: benediction” by Czeslaw Milosz

An excerpt from Milosz’s book-length poem The Separate Notebooks.

From Selected Poems: 1931-2004.

That’s all for now. Do let me know which are your favorites in the comments.

4 thoughts on “National Poetry Month Wrap-Up

  1. This was fun to read, I think I liked Veni Creator and Sky Song best. And of course John Donne.
    Unrelated but what do you think is your favorite Neil Gaiman book? I recently finished reading Stardust and Views form the Cheap Seats, am Rather Intrigued and wondering where to go next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the post! “Veni Creator” and “Sky Song” are two of my favorites from this group too. 🙂

      Right now, my favorite Neil Gaiman book is The Ocean at the End of the Lane (I even did a review of it). I’ve had my eye on Stardust for a while though, because I heard that there was some connection to Donne in that story.

      Like

Leave a reply.

