Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books from My TBR List

toptentuesday21

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

As you may know, I keep a long, long, long list of books that I hope to read at some point in the future. And with this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic being “Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately,” I thought I’d share a very small portion of that list with you.

1: Charlotte Brontë: a Fiery Heart by Claire Harman

I learned of this new(ish) biography of Charlotte Brontë after Longreads published this excerpt of the book on their site. I’ve always had a soft spot for biographies, so I’m excited to get my hands on this one soon.

2: The Third Man by Graham Greene

Notable as possibly the only book in history that was written specifically so that it could be adapted. Greene was tapped to write an original screenplay for Carol Reed’s 1949 film noir The Third Man, but found it difficult to write a script from scratch, as every film he had worked on previously had been an adaptation. So, rather than write The Third Man‘s script from the ground up, Greene instead wrote the story first as a novella, then adapted it into the final screenplay.

I happen to love the movie The Third Man, and even though I doubt the novella will add that much to the story—what with its existing solely to be adapted and all—I thought I’d give it a shot anyway.

3: Murder in the Cathedral by T. S. Eliot

I added this one to my list after our local library’s most recent book sale. Commissioned for the 1935 Canterbury Festival, this three-act verse drama centers on the 1170 assassination of Archbishop Thomas Becket of Canterbury. I love plays, I love poetry, and I’m beginning to like Eliot, so this is one I was excited to pick up.

4: World’s Fair by E. L. Doctorow

Also a book sale acquisition. I’ve been meaning to try Doctorow for some time, after hearing him described as a master of historical fiction, which happens to be one of my favorite genres. This particular novel tells the story of a young boy living in New York City during the 1939 World’s Fair.

5: A Summer of Drowning by John Burnside

I couldn’t help adding this to my list after watching Jen Campbell’s review of it. Set on a remote island near Norway, this book follows a young girl and her artist mother through a summer during which several of the men in their town mysteriously disappear and are later found drowned. Mixing influences of philosophy, folklore, and Greek mythology, this one sounded too good to pass up.

6: The Celtic Twilight by W. B. Yeats [Also on Project Gutenberg]

In addition to his poetry and plays, Yeats also authored or co-authored several books on Irish mythology and fairy tales. This particular one, first published in 1893, is a collection of ghost stories and other odd bits of folklore collected from interviews that Yeats conducted with the residents of several rural Irish towns. I’ve actually starting reading this one already and it’s some fascinating stuff; for instance, did you realize that burning ragweed outside your house will keep the faeries away from your children? Good to know.

7: “White Nights” by Fyodor Dostoevsky [Also on Project Gutenberg]

One of Dostoevsky’s earliest works. I actually finished this novella since adding it to my list, so stay tuned for the review. (Spoiler: I loved it.)

8: Bandersnatch: C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, and the Creative Collaboration of the Inklings by Diana Pavlac Glyer

Having finished one awesome book about the Inklings not too long ago, I thought I’d pick up Diana Glyer’s more recent offering, focusing not just on the lives of the members and the life of the group, but also on how creativity reacts to and flourishes in an environment such as the one created by the Inklings.

9: William Morris: a Life for Our Time by Fiona MacCarthy

As far as I know, this is the only full-length biography of Morris, one of the most influential figures of the Victorian era. Though he’s probably best-known these days as a co-founder of the Morris & Co. interior design firm, Morris was also heavily involved in the Pre-Raphaelite movement and his novels and poetry greatly influenced C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien as young authors. What’s not to like?

10: Nutshell by Ian McEwan

So, there are two books that Ian McEwan is probably most famous for: Atonement and Saturday. Having never read anything by McEwan, I thought that (some day, one day) I would choose one of these as my first introduction to him and his work. Then I heard about Nutshell. This is McEwan’s latest novel, a (sort of) retelling of Hamlet in which an unusually sentient fetus finds out that his mother and his uncle are plotting to kill his father. I was going to read some of McEwan’s older work first, but between my love of Hamlet and my momentary interest in unusual narrators, I don’t think I can wait to finish those books before I get to this one.

How about you? What books have you recently added to your TBR? Let me know in the comments.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books from My TBR List

  1. The Bandersnatch is on my TBR too. I love reading about authors, but for some reason, I’ve never read any biographies of the Inklings. I’ll have to try to get to it before I reread of The Lord of the Rings again!

    Like

    1. If you’re interested in books about the Inklings, The Fellowship by Philip and Carol Zaleski was great. I’d also highly recommend CS Lewis’s memoir Surprised by Joy, though it’s more of a spiritual memoir than a straightforward autobiography.

      Like

  2. I just stumbled across your blog because it was in my recommendations…nice to find someone else who appreciates the classics! I like a good mix of old and new titles.

    The Charlotte Bronte bio looks particularly interesting … I’ll be adding it to my own TBR! And I believe “Nutshell” is already on my list.

    Here’s my TTT! https://thatbookladyblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/08/top-ten-tuesday-books-ive-recently-added-to-my-tbr/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hi! hoping to read /the last unicorn/. also the stephen king collaboration /hearts in suspension/, about communal collegial writing in the vietnam era. he’s a maine author, whose genre i don’t read, but i liked his first book on writing very much.

    Like

Leave a reply.

