Next Sunday: ‘Inspector Lewis,’ Starring Charles Williams

You may remember last Fall, there was a slight brouhaha among Inklings fans online when the British detective series Lewis aired an episode centering around a murdered Charles Williams expert and a shadowy cabal reminiscent of Williams’s own Companions of Co-inherence. The episode, whose premiere coincided with the publication of Grevel Lindop’s long-awaited biography of Williams, was titled “Magnum Opus” and appeared as part of Lewis‘s ninth season. The series airs in the US as well on PBS (where its called Inspector Lewis instead), but because of some odd scheduling, the numbering for the seasons is a bit off. So what was Season 9 for the Brits is Season 8 for us.

I mention this because Season 8 of Inspector Lewis premieres tomorrow on PBS. “Magnum Opus” is the second episode in the season, which means if you want to see it, next Sunday, August 14 is your chance.

The episode will also be available to stream from PBS’s website, though I haven’t been able to find out how long it will be there. It is also only available to people within the US.

I’m afraid I haven’t been keeping up with Inspector Lewis so far, but for a chance to spot a few Inklings references, I might have to start. 🙂

HT: Murder! ‘Orrible Murder!

5 thoughts on “Next Sunday: ‘Inspector Lewis,’ Starring Charles Williams

  1. The Lewis episode is a bit hopeless from an Inklings point of view. ‘Fun’ I guess is the best way of describing it. Misses Williams’ point entirely by sensationalizing it. And of course, Hathaway is a Williams ‘expert’ too!! (Just HAD to be)

    Like

    1. I haven’t seen the episode myself yet, but I knew a lot of my readers were interested in it so I thought I’d mention it anyway. I was afraid it might turn out like that, though. :/

      Like

Leave a reply.

