Current Reads

So.

Things have been a little quite around here lately, I know. But while I haven’t been posting, I have been busy reading, buying, and writing about books. Here are just a few of the things I’ve been reading lately and hope to feature on the blog soon:

"Macbeth, Banquo, and the Witches" by Henry Fuseli. Image via Wikiart
“Macbeth, Banquo, and the Witches” by Henry Fuseli. Image via Wikiart

Macbeth by William Shakespeare – Easily one of my most favorite books in the world. I have so many thoughts on this that I might write a whole series of posts on the play and its history, so let me know if that sounds interesting to you.

The Aeneid by Virgil, translated by Robert Fitzgerald – I’ve had this on my list ever since I read Seamus Heaney’s “The Golden Bough” from his 1991 collection Seeing Things. The publication of Heaney’s full translation of Book Six of The Aeneid gave me the last push I needed to finally embark on this vast epic. Currently, I’m on Book Five (of twelve) and, though I had my doubts at the beginning, I’m enjoying it now.

The Four Loves by C. S. Lewis – At last count, I own twenty books by C. S. Lewis. I’ve only read six of them to completion. That has to change.

Neruda reading for the Library of Congress in 1966. Image via Wikimedia Commons.
Neruda reading for the Library of Congress in 1966. Image via Wikimedia Commons.

The Essential Neruda by Pablo Neruda – Corey (a.k.a. the Ink Slinger a.k.a. G. K. Raptorton) piqued my curiosity when he recently started reading this anthology. Since Neruda is one of those authors I’ve been meaning to read for some time, this seems like a great place to start with his work.

I also recently finished Rain, a collection of poems by the celebrated Scottish poet Don Paterson, and Lewis’s The Weight of Glory. Those reviews should be coming before long, but for now…

What have you poor neglected blog people been reading? What books have you recently finished? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Current Reads

  1. Well, right now I’m reading Anne of Ingleside by L. M. Montgomery, Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart, and Sixguns and Society by Will Wright. And of course, Jane Eyre for my read-along. Books, books everywhere!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

