Spring Library Sale

Our local library had its semi-annual book sale some weeks ago, and now finally, I’m here to blog the results! (And sorry there are no pictures. The camera’s not cooperating today.) On to the list:

Best Film Plays, 1943-44 edited by John Gassner and Dudley Nichols

A collection of ten classic screenplays, among them The More the Merrier and Casablanca, which just so happen to be two of my favorite films. It’s quite an old book too, printed in 1945.

Carry On, Jeeves by P. G. Wodehouse

Because I haven’t read a Wodehouse book in over a year and that needs to change.

Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation by Lynne Truss

Recommended by more than one of my favorite bloggers as required reading for anyone who writes anything. Judging by some of their reviews, this one looks like it will be entertaining as well as informative.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Amazingly, I’ve survived this long without ever having read a word by Fitzgerald. Hopefully, that’s going to change soon too.

My Ántonia by Willa Cather

This, along with Gatsby, is one of those books that everyone seems to have read except for me. I avoided it for a while, thinking it might be too similar to a Western, but thanks to the many enthusiastic reviews I’ve read/watched from other bloggers, I finally decided to give it a try.

My Name Is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok

Yes, I do already own a copy of this book. But this copy is very old—the copyright page reads 1972—and in marvelous condition, so I bought it anyway.

On Writing by Stephen King

It occurred to me after buying this book that I had never even started to read a Stephen King book before, and therefore had no way to know what his advice on writing was worth, if anything. But, after asking around and checking a few blogs for reviews, I decided that it probably would have been worth the money even if I had spent more than 50¢ on it. 😉

Reading in the Dark by Seamus Deane

The author’s name jumped out at me immediately: I recognized him as the dedicatee of Seamus Heaney’s poem “The Ministry of Fear.” Besides that, I knew nothing about this book when I picked it up except that it takes place in Northern Ireland. Irish literature and history is quickly becoming a fascination for me these days, so I thought this book would make a good addition to my already-enormous TBR pile.

Sonnets from the Portuguese by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Browning’s famous book of love poems for her husband Robert. I’ve read a dismally small amount of work from either of the Brownings, but between this and the book of Robert Browning’s poems that I bought at the last book sale, I should up to speed before long.

Have any of you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “Spring Library Sale

  1. On Writing is amazing. I’ve only read one of King’s fictional works (I can’t stomach most horror), but that memoir — wow. I’ve read it all the way through twice, and parts of it many times for reference.

    The first time I read The Great Gatsby, in my mid-20s, I didn’t like it much at all. The second time I read it, ten years later, I liked it very much indeed. I think I expected too much of it the first time, since everyone lauds it as “the great American novel.” It’s quiet and thoughtful and not at all earth-shattering, at least for me. But so worth reading.

    Elizabeth Barrett Browning is one of my favorite poets.

    I read My Antonia in college and didn’t love it, but I know a lot of people do.

    I love library book sales!!!!

    Like

Leave a reply.

