The Poetry Month Tag

Image via Matt Hobbs at PublicDomainArchive.com
Image via PublicDomainArchive.com

In case you haven’t heard, April is National Poetry Month! I’m excited, of course, and even more so because several of my favorite bloggers have already done and are planning lots of poetry-related posts this month. One of those bloggers is “Hamlette” of The Edge of the Precipice, who made up this little tag as part of the festivities:

What are some poems you like?

There are so many! To give a very small sampling, I love “When You Are Old” by W. B. Yeats, “Canal Bank Walk” by Patrick Kavanagh, the Holy Sonnets by John Donne (especially five, ten, and fourteen), “In My Craft or Sullen Art” by Dylan Thomas, and “Glanmore Sonnets” by Seamus Heaney.

What are some poems you dislike?

This is probably going to get me in trouble, but I don’t really like “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,” or much of anything else I’ve read from Eliot, for that matter (except “The Naming of Cats”). I also recall disliking Wordsworth’s “Lines Composed a Few Miles above Tintern Abbey” when I read it a few years ago.

Are there any poets whose work you especially enjoy?  If so, who are they?

Yes! Seamus Heaney, John Donne, W. B. Yeats, and W. H. Auden all top the list for me. I also love Don Paterson, Dylan Thomas, and of course, Emily Dickinson.

Do you write poetry?

Not as often as I used to.

Have you ever memorized a poem?

Yes. I used to know Kipling’s poem “If” by heart, although I’ve since forgotten it. Currently, I have about nine poems memorized.

Do you prefer poetry that rhymes and has a strict meter, or free verse?  Or do you like both?

It depends on the poem. Just for familiarity’s sake, I do tend to prefer rhymed, metered verse, but a clever poet can do some pretty amazing things with free verse too. W. H. Auden and Li-Young Lee are two of my favorite free verse poets at the moment.

Do you have any particular poetry movements you’re fond of? (Beat poets, Romanticism, Fireside poets, etc?)

The metaphysical poets are fascinating. A lot of people, I know, are turned off by the outlandish metaphors and the abstract philosophical talk, but I happen to love both of those things. 🙂

That’s all for me. Do check out Hamlette’s blog for links to more poetry-related posts throughout the month.

9 thoughts on “The Poetry Month Tag

  1. Yay! A fellow fan of the Metaphysicals!

    Have you read any of TS Eliot’s other cat poetry? I have never been able to care for his free verse either but I’ve always loved the cats.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve read “Macavity the Mystery Cat” (on your blog, I think) and I listened to Eliot’s reading of “Growltiger’s Last Stand” on Spotify. I don’t even like cats, but I love Eliot’s cat poems. 🙂

      Like

Leave a reply.

