Yet Another Book Haul

You know how this works: the local library holds a massive book sale, I come away with a whole mess of books, and then I blog about them. And you comment on them. Let’s go.

"Joan of Arc" by Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Image via Wikiart.
“Joan of Arc” by Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Image via Wikiart.

1: Saint Joan by George Bernard Shaw

Owing to my long-standing fascination with Joan of Arc and Fariba’s excellent review of the play, I decided to pick this one up.

2: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

This is one of those books that I’ve been meaning to read for ages. The inside cover was scribbled on a little by its previous owner, but for 50¢, I really can’t complain.

3: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard

A perfect follow-up to Hamlet, don’t you think?

4: The Oxford Book of English Verse

Suzannah Rowntree at Vintage Novels highly recommended this book so when I saw a not-too-beat-up copy of it on the “Poetry” table, I was excited. I was even more excited when I got home and found out that this particular version, edited by Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch, is out of print and extremely rare. For $2, I’d say that’s a steal. 😀

5: Fear and Trembling by Søren Kierkegaard

I picked up this one per Fariba’s recommendation as well. Having never read Kierkegaard, this looks like just the place to start.

"Faust" by Rembrandt. Image via Wikiart.
“Faust” by Rembrandt. Image via Wikiart.

6: Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe

While trying to find out what is meant by a “Faustian deal,” I ended up reading about this play. I’ve been wanting to read some non-Shakespearean Elizabethan drama for a while and this seemed like the ticket.

7: Selected Poems by Robert Browning

I read “My Last Duchess” in high school and there ends my knowledge of Browning’s work. Let’s see how this goes!

8: Look Homeward, Angel by Thomas Wolfe

I like to read the authors that made my favorite authors who they were. Wolfe is one such author, having been cited as a major influence by Ray Bradbury.

Gustave Flaubert
Flaubert channeling Napoleon. Image via Wikimedia Commons.

9: Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

Blame Karen Swallow Prior for this one: her enthusiastic praise of Madame Bovary made me curious.

10: The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L. Shirer

Widely considered the definitive history of Nazi Germany. I got all 1,245 pages of it for a dollar.

11: A Historical Atlas of Judaism by Ian Barnes and Josephine Bacon

This one might be a dud, I’m afraid. Since bringing the book home, I’ve read some reviews of it that claim it’s inaccurate in places. Good thing I only spent a few dollars on it. 🙂

12: The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

This too might be a biased waste of money, but at $2, I couldn’t pass it up. If nothing else, it would make an admirable doorstop. 😉

While not technically a book, I also bought a 2008 copy of Life magazine about Audrey Hepburn.

Has anyone out there read any of these? What did you think? Any you would like to read? Let me know in the comments.

11 thoughts on “Yet Another Book Haul

  1. wonderful! Brave New World, twice read but the ending seemed different, much less emphatic heroic from that remembered. thanks to this post and linkage, am now interested in Kierkegaard. bovary is out for me, but twas good to read nobokov’s condensation. i shd read the prior article.

    went to a library sale on saturday and came away with goodies, a dollar the bagful, good condition all. The Shaw was there but with small print and poor condition. but Joan of Arc by Mark Twain! received in excellent condition; Consciousness, scholarly work in the third (“missing”) journal of Thoreau; in which the scholar believes as I do that Thoreau is much more writerly craftsman than a naturalist. two connie willis SF, a vintage hardcover herbal and pictorial, bellow’s mr. sammaler’s planet, the welsh wars of edward I, mosher’s where the rivers flow north, kaye gibbons’, a cure for dreams, and regan’s For the record. beautiful grateful haul. hope to couple the regan with the recent Finale by mallon, fictionalization of the white house in time of the Reykjavík summit in the mid 80’s. because am currently interested in the fictional distortion of real people.

    oh those library sales!

    …………………….
    apology for lowercase owing to increasing repetitive stress with carpel tunnel syndrome, coupled with arthritis.

    Like

    1. Sounds like quite a haul! I had completely forgotten about Twain’s book on Joan of Arc. I suppose I might try that some time too.

      No problem, and I hope you get to feeling better soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I check Book Geeks often. Good book talk here. I hope not to comment more, but like the posts. For this comment I use voice-recognition software on the off-line computer then copy and paste to CD and transfer to the online, copy and paste into the comment box. One last book from my haul (neglected mentioning) — hope to use in conjunction with Thoreau’s Journal. Graham Greene’s In Search of a Character, a journal he wrote while traveling and looking into this question. Intriguing, sad in parts, but the journaling aspect is of thoroughgoing interest. A good encouragement and substantial tool in the creative writer’s box. Which is what Thoreau was, a creative writer.

        Thanks for your kind words.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Q’s Oxford Book of English Verse! Are YOU in for a treat.

    I’m in the 1600s by now (a VAST segment of the book is dedicated to the 1600s). It is such a treat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

