Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books on My Fall “To Be Read” List

toptentuesday21
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

1 & 2: Surprised by Joy and The Weight of Glory by C. S. Lewis

I bought these two on impulse about a week ago. The Weight of Glory still sits in its pretty cream-colored Barnes and Noble bag, while I’ve already started on Surprised by Joy. Autobiography is one of my favorite genres, so I really couldn’t pass up an autobiography of one of my favorite authors.

3: Hamlet by William Shakespeare

I will be re-reading this in conjunction with “Hamlette” of the blog The Edge of the Precipice. Starting October 1, she’ll be reading and posting about the play a scene at a time and holding discussions about the story, the characters, Shakespeare, etc. Depending on how those conversations go, you might see a few Hamlet-related posts here in the month of October.

4: Joy by Abigail Santamaria

What? Did you think I was going to miss the first full-length biography of C. S. Lewis’s oft-overlooked wife? Not a chance!

5 & 6: Dandelion Wine and Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

I had said that I was going to read Dandelion Wine this summer, but for a multitude of reasons, that didn’t happen. Instead, I’m pushing it back to fall and planning to follow it up with its sequel.

7: Macbeth by William Shakespeare

A new Macbeth adaptation is coming out this December (or this October, if you live in the UK), so before I see this play on film again, I’d really like to have read it myself.

8: The Innocence of Father Brown by G. K. Chesterton

I’ve already read a few of these short stories, as I’ve mentioned before, and I’m really looking forward to rounding out the collection.

9: The Tempest by William Shakespeare

I suppose fall is the season of Shakespeare for me. 🙂 I’ve been rather eager to read this play, as it’s one of Shakespeare’s plays that I know the least about and is also one of only three Shakespearian plays to feature an original plot. (All of the others besides Love Labors Lost and A Midsummer Night’s Dream were based either on historical events or on a previously written story. Can you believe that?)

10: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

There’s really no reason why I ought to read this again, other than I want to and I love it. That seems like reason enough.

What about you? What books are you planning to read this fall? Have you read any of these already? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books on My Fall “To Be Read” List

  1. I love TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD as well. My favorite book of all time for lots of reasons. Did you read GO SET A WATCHMAN? I didn’t hate it, actually. Can’t say I loved it, but I think it offers some interesting insights into how we see the world as adults compared to our view as children.

    Happy TTT (on Wednesday)!

    Like

    1. TKM is my favorite novel too. It’s probably as close as anyone is ever going to get to a perfect novel, in my humble opinion. 🙂

      I did read Go Set a Watchman, but I didn’t exactly love it either. I liked seeing how Harper Lee changed as a writer over time, but I was in the same boat as Lee’s editor: I found Scout’s flashbacks much more interesting than the actual plot.

      Like

  2. ‘Macbeth’ is splendid, and I trust the new adaption will do it justice (Fassbender FTW). It’s very nearly my favorite Shakespeare play, second only to ‘Henry V’. And there’s really no way to go wrong with Father Brown. I mean, really. His stories are just as good as Holmes’, and perhaps better.

    You’re in for a treat with ‘Something Wicked’. (I’m sure you know this, since you’re a Bradbury fan.) When I think of Fall reading, there are few books that better fit the season.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read Henry V yet, but it’s been on my list for a while. Hoping to get to that too before long.

      It’s odd because I’ve never really taken a liking to any fictional detective I’ve ever read about, Holmes included, but I’m head over heels for Father Brown. Chesterton really is a genius.

      I have five unread Bradbury books right now, and I really just want to read all of them all at once. 🙂 I’m sure Something Wicked‘s going to be awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

