“The Delights of Anticipation”

It’s rare that I hear about a new book before it’s published; it’s even rarer that the book turns out to be something I want to read. So imagine my surprise at finding four yet-to-be-published books that all occupy the space near the top of my “To Be Read” list!

Here they are:

1: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Naturally. Harper Lee is one of my favorite authors and it was a great source of sorrow to me that I had already read all of her books. I still can’t believe that in less than two months, I’ll have a new Harper Lee book in my hand(!).

2: Joy by Abigail Santamaria

This book, due out on August 4, is the first full-length biography of C. S. Lewis’s wife, Joy Davidman. Being fascinated by Lewis and Davidman’s love story, I can’t wait to read this book.

3: Charles Williams: the Third Inkling by Grevel Lindop

After being deeply skeptical of Mr. Williams, I finally gave him a try and found out that he is a brilliant and tragically underrated author. What makes this biography even more enticing is the fact that it is the first full biography of Williams, whose life remains shrouded in mystery even seventy years after his death. While I doubt that the forthcoming revelations are as earth-shattering as they are purported to be, I’m still interested in learning more about this fascinating man.

(The title, though, seems a bit misleading: it gives the impression that there were only three Inklings, when the number was closer to a dozen.)

4: Nightmares and Daydreams by Ray Bradbury

Bradbury’s official biographer, Sam Weller, once mentioned in an interview that this book, a short story collection, was one of the last things that Bradbury worked on before he passed away three years ago. (Has it been that long already?) It is unfinished and as far as I know, there are no plans to publish it, but nevertheless, I do hope that I get to read it one day.

Are there any unpublished books you’re looking forward to? Let me know which ones in the comments!

6 thoughts on ““The Delights of Anticipation”

  1. Like you,I’m looking forward to the new Harper Lee.

    I’m also waiting for Fight Club 2,which will be a graphic novel.I’ve heard that Arundhati Roy is writing a new book.She has only written The God of Small Things so far,and it has turned out to be one of my favourites,so I’m eager to read that book even if I have no idea when it’ll be released – maybe 2017 or maybe never?

    I was looking to The Buried Giant by Kauzo Ishiguro,but the reviews have quite undermined my anticipation…

    Like

Leave a reply.

