Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Authors I Would Love to Meet

toptentuesday21

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Normally, I’m too scattered and disorganized to write a Top Ten Tuesday post and have it ready by Tuesday. But since this topic especially piques my interest, I decided to participate again. 🙂

1: Ray Bradbury

Photo by Alan Light.
Photo by Alan Light.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Predictable? Perhaps, but I’ve wanted to meet Bradbury ever since reading Fahrenheit 451. He gets me better than any other author I’ve ever read. I think we would get along famously, if only . . . .

2: C. S. Lewis

I actually enjoy C. S. Lewis the man more than I enjoy his books much of the time. Besides being a genius, he’s also one of the bravest and kindest people I have ever heard of in my life.

3: Frederick Douglass

505px-Frederick_Douglass_c1860s

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of every historical figure I’ve ever studied in-depth, Frederick Douglass is one of my absolute favorites. If you have not yet read his superb autobiography Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, do so immediately. Then you will understand why I would so love to meet this man.

4: Alice von Hildebrand

I only just recently learned about Dame von Hildebrand, thanks to this interview that Eric Metaxas conducted with her last year. She sounds entirely fascinating, from her life story to her ideas on feminism, marriage, and life in general. I would love to be able to speak with her.

4: Harper Lee

Harper Lee, 1962

 

 

 

 

 

Meeting Harper Lee would be the highlight of my life. Just to tell her “Thank you” in person would be enough.

5: J. R. R. Tolkien

Though I have yet to read any of Tolkien’s books (outside of one chapter from a borrowed copy of The Hobbit), Tolkien himself fascinates me. He was a brilliant author, he spoke around thirty languages, and he once told off the Nazi Party: how much more interesting can a person get?

6: G. K. Chesterton

G.K. Chesterton_Good Picture

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Old Gilbert and I would have a grand old time, I’m sure. And between rounds of beer, he would regale me with some of the most profound ideas I’ve ever heard in my life.

8: Markus Zusak

I’d like to thank him for writing The Book Thief. I’d also like to communicate to him the depth of the frenzy he worked me into by threatening to kill my favorite Book Thief character twice (and then bringing the character back at the end of the story unharmed).

9: Neil Gaiman

Photo by Manfred Werner.
Photo by Manfred Werner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These days, it seems a great many people indeed would be thrilled to meet Neil Gaiman. I am among them. Besides being a wonderful writer, he also sounds like a wonderful person overall. Between his charitable endeavors, his generosity toward his fans, and his general delightful craziness, I think I would like him very much.

10: Charles Williams

I feel rather conflicted about Williams. On the one hand, I admire him immensely as an artist and would like to find out if he was as electrifying in person as C. S. Lewis and others have claimed. On the other hand, he’s known even to his fans as quite a–um–strange individual. I won’t get into particulars at the moment, but I’m afraid I would find him to be too much to take. But since this could never happen anyway, I’m going to add Williams to the list.

Your turn: which authors would you most like to meet?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Authors I Would Love to Meet

Leave a reply.

