Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

Today, I am participating in the “Top Ten Tuesday” meme, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten All Time Favorite Authors,” and since I love bragging on my favorite authors, I decided to avail myself of this opportunity to do just that.

(Keep in mind that these authors are listed in no particular order. I love them all too much to rank them.)

Harper Lee

Harper Lee, 1962This shouldn’t come as a surprise. I’ve only been slightly obsessed with To Kill a Mockingbird for the past two years and have been eagerly awaiting the release of Go Set a Watchman for most of this year. (Only eighty-four days left!)

Not only is To Kill a Mockingbird easily one of the greatest novels in the history of mankind, but also, I’ve found that I enjoy Lee’s writing style more than that of most authors. She is perfectly clear and concise while still being eloquent and eloquent without seeming pretentious. Even though the second book is on its way, I still can’t help wishing there were enough Harper Lees to fill a shelf.

William Shakespeare

I don’t think this really needs explanation, does it?

Ray Bradbury

Photo by Alan Light.
Photo by Alan Light.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not going to lie: I couldn’t love this man any more if he was my own grandfather. Not only are his stories works of genius in and of themselves, but the passion that Bradbury showed for writing and stories is infectious; it adds an extra layer of brilliance to anything he writes. He has probably impacted me more as a reader, a writer, and a person than any other author I’ve ever read. As the man himself said, if you lifted my skull, you’d see his thumbprint on my brain.

L. M. Montgomery

Montgomery was probably my first “favorite author.” Growing up, I read all of the Anne books and was never let down once. (Except when I read Anne of Windy Poplars. I recall that book being insufferable.) It’s been a long time since I’ve read the Anne books, but looking back on them, I think they might be the reason why I love poetry now, as well as the reason why I gravitate toward flowery, dramatic prose. L. M. Montgomery has marked me for life.

Edgar Allan Poe

Poe2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve only recently starting reading Poe’s work and most of that has been poems, but already, he has become one of my favorite poets. I cannot even imagine the amount of skill it took to write something like “For Annie.”

C. S. Lewis

Come now, who doesn’t like C. S. Lewis? (Besides the usual suspects.)

Honestly, there have been a few times when I’ve thought that Lewis was a bit overrated, but other times, I’ve read things of his that I’ve loved so much, I wanted to kiss him. He’s certainly one of the most brilliant men to ever put pen to page, as well as marvelous human being independent of his work.

Alfred Tennyson

Alfred Tennyson photograph

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tennyson was my first favorite poet. When I was about eleven, I came across some of his poems in a quotations anthology and thought they were wonderful. Even now, I’m a bit in awe of Tennyson. Take for example these lines from “Locksley Hall”:

Love took up the glass of Time, and turn’d it in his glowing hands;
Every moment, lightly shaken, ran itself in golden sands.

Love took up the harp of Life, and smote on all the chords with might;
Smote the chord of Self, that, trembling, pass’d in music out of sight.

Doesn’t that break your brain just a little bit?

Charles Spurgeon

Spurgeon is better remembered as a preacher than as a writer, but nevertheless, his books and articles are gold mines. In addition, his writing style has a sort of Victorian flourish to it that I love.

John Donne

John Donne miniature by Isaac Oliver

 

 

 

 

 

 

Donne is another recent discovery of mine. I’ve already said that I was staggered by Edgar Allan Poe’s talent, but Donne makes him look like Shel Silverstein. I’ve particularly enjoyed his “The Canonization” and “Batter my heart, three-person’d God.” There’s something about those old sonnets that makes you feel a little better about humanity.

W. H. Auden

I tend not to take kindly to modern poetry, but for Auden, I make an exception. The man is a genius, one who rules the English language with an iron fist. In addition, I find his “pervasive, sardonic angst” as one person termed it refreshing in a realm of poets who seem to be filled with angst but have no readable way of expressing it.

There are ten of my favorite authors. Who are your favorites?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

    1. An excellent word that is. 🙂

      I guess “strange man, but an interesting writer” could apply to everyone on this list except for Harper Lee and L. M. Montgomery. XD

      Like

Leave a reply.

