Library Sale, Part II

I love book hauls, especially ones where I come away with eleven books, all in admirable condition, for a combined total of $13.00. God bless the Jefferson Parish Public Library.

On to the list!

1: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
In Cold Blood

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I quite nearly had a heart attack when I saw this book on the antique books table because, as you can see, its cover matches the first edition exactly. Inspecting the first few pages, I found that this book was copyrighted in 1965–same as the first edition. And the price tag read $1.00! “The librarians must not know what they have!” I thought. Handing the book to my sister, I frantically pecked away at my phone’s keyboard to find out what other marks distinguish a first edition In Cold Blood. Sadly, this book is not a first edition, but it is an early printing, which still excites me. For one dollar, I really couldn’t turn it down (despite the fact that I may or may not be able to stomach the plot).

2: You Can’t Take It with You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman

This book, upon which one of my favorite films is based, was printed in 1937 and also cost a dollar. Why not?

3: A Man for All Seasons by Robert Bolt

Fariba from Exploring Classics made this play sound fascinating in the review of it she posted last August. I’m afraid I know very little about Henry VIII’s reign, and even less about Sir Thomas More, but I look forward to learning more about both.

4: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition by William Strunk and E. B. White

I’ve heard wonderful things about this book, but I’ve never read it. For one dollar, I figured I couldn’t afford not to buy it.

5: Night by Elie Wiesel

I kept promising myself I was going to read this book one day. It looks like that day is nigh upon us.

6: The Giver by Lois Lowry

Given my recently-acquired interest in science fiction and dystopian fiction, this book seems right up my alley. I’m still not quite sure what the book is about, but there will be plenty of time to find out when I read it. And even if I hate this book, I’m only out fifty cents.

7: The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

Suzannah Rowntree of the blog Vintage Novels recommended that I follow up Shakespeare’s Richard III with this mid-century mystery novel about a detective attempting to exonerate King Richard for the murders of his nephews. I had never heard of this book before Suzannah mentioned it, so I certainly didn’t expect to find it at a secondhand book sale, amid the glut of James Patterson, John Grisham, and other current crime fiction. Lo and behold!

8: The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

And please excuse the shoddy photos I took with my flashless phone camera.
And please excuse the shoddy photos I took with my flashless phone camera.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while–I even downloaded the public domain e-book–but I still prefer having an actual book in my hand. And this one is so pretty.

9: The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket (or Daniel Handler, if you prefer)

I only know Snicket by reputation, not by having read his books, but that reputation was enough to make me want to walk into this book almost completely blind.

10: Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally

This was my most expensive book, at a whopping $2.50! The World War II/Holocaust eras are another part of history that I want to learn more about, so it made sense to buy this one as well.

11: English Poetry, Volume III: Tennyson to Whitman edited by Charles W. Eliot

It’s not a proper book haul without a poetry book. I was intrigued by Tennyson, but when I looked down the table of contents and found that this book also contains some of Edgar Allan Poe’s poetry, I was sold.

I also wanted to buy Brave New World and The Great Gatsby, but they were both more damaged than I was willing to put up with, even for a dollar. Maybe someday, though, I’ll finally read these.

P.S. My sister also scored a copy of L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Avonlea that was printed in 1909! Don’t think I’m not a little jealous.

15 thoughts on “Library Sale, Part II

  1. I LOVE used book sales! Someone gave me a copy of the Elements of Style as a gift, and though I haven’t read it entirely, bits have been handy. As for the Giver, it’s an intriguing story! I’d love to hear what you think when you finish it. πŸ™‚ Although it may take you a little while, considering how many other wonderful tomes you acquired πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally understand why you bought that copy of In Cold Blood.
    I happen to have a Heritage Press copy of Brothers Karamazov published in 1945.I also have Folio copies of Hamlet and Macbeth both published in 1955.I don’t know why,but reading an old book is really exciting.

    In Cold Blood sounds exciting.I was about to read it,but I checked the first lines of Quiet and it was so compelling that I had to finish it.I guess I’ll read Capote’s book when I’ll finish Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy.It is regarded as the first non-fiction novel.I hope it’ll be good…

    Hmm,you also have Schindler’s List! Along with The True History of the Kelly Gang,it is the only non-fiction to have won the very prestigious Booker Prize.I,too,have it,but I don’t know when I’ll read it.I’m quite intimidated to read this quite big book,to be honest.

    As for Night,I keep seeing good things written about it,but I just don’t feel entice to it at the moment.

    Like

    1. Those editions of Hamlet and The Brothers Karamazov sound awesome. I’m not really expecting to like In Cold Blood, but I think I might try it anyway. After all, a lot of my favorite books are ones I didn’t think I was going to like at first.

      When you get a chance, you really should read Night. I’ve only read the first chapter, but already, I think this is going to be one of the best books I’ve ever read.

      Like

Leave a reply.

