“The Ultimate Book Tag”

Greetings!

I’m afraid things have been entirely too quiet around here. Right now, I’m thick in the trenches of C. S. Lewis’s Till We Have Faces and Shakespeare’s Richard III, which is taking me longer than it otherwise would have had I cared to brush up on some War of the Roses history prior to reading the play. At this point, I have nothing new to report about either book, so I decided that instead, I would fill out this tag that I found at The Resurgent Bookworm. Anjana, who runs the blog, said that she would love to see some of the “serious” book bloggers try this tag, and since she’s referred to me as a “serious blogger” in the past, I assume that means me. Here goes.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No, but I do get distracted easily. Usually, the radio is playing, and I have trouble blocking that out. Although, I was able to read Ray Bradbury’s “The Next in Line” in the car without being distracted, but that’s probably because it was so freaky that I was determined to find out what happened next.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’ve always thought that Bradbury’s style was completely unique among the authors whose works I’ve read. Much of his prose has a sort of dream-like quality to it that I’ve never seen any other author achieve. Besides that, he makes even the prosiest scenes sound like poetry.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Narnia.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I do have a book bag, though I don’t use it very often. It’s a green tote bag whose front and back feature the cover art from the first edition of (What else?) To Kill a Mockingbird. Besides books, I also keep notebooks, pens, pencils, a set of headphones, and various charging devices in it.

5. Do you smell your books?

Usually, no.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

It depends on the book. Some books (The Book Thief, for example) are much better with illustrations, but other times, illustrations can throw you off. For instance, you may have imagined a character or a scene appearing one way and the illustrations contradict you. I’ve never liked that. Also, I tend to flip through all the pages of a book before reading it, so sometimes, the illustrations spoil points of the plot for me.

7. What book did you love while reading it but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

When I was younger (about ten or eleven), I loved the Felicity series from American Girl. This series centers on a girl living in Williamsburg, Virginia just before the Revolutionary War. Being the little history buff that I was, I loved those books, but once I started reading biographies of people who actually lived during the period, I found the Felicity books to be unrealistic and bland by comparison.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I certainly do: before I learned to talk, I would let my mother know that I wanted her to read to me by throwing a book at her. She tried to teach me how to say “Please” when I wanted to be read to, but I couldn’t pronounce it just yet, so she had me say “Puh” instead.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

That would probably be The Bulletproof George Washington by David Barton.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I write, but not nearly as much as I ought to. I’ve tried to write fiction, but so far, I haven’t gotten the hang of it. Mostly, I prefer writing essays and poetry. And yes, I do think that I might be an author someday.

12. When did you get into reading?

I honestly don’t remember. As I mentioned above, I loved books even before I could talk, so it must have started when I was terribly young. My mother says she used to read to me before I was born. That’s probably when it started.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

To Kill a Mockingbird, but if that’s not old enough to be considered a classic, I think I’ll go with my other old standby, Anne of Green Gables.

14. In school, was your best subject Language Arts/English?

It was always either that, or History. On a semi-related note, I once finished the school year with a better grade in French than in English. 😛

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Stick it in the corner and forget about it.

17. What bad blogging habit do you have (besides rambling)?

Who said I ramble? Right, everyone who’s read my posts about either To Kill a Mockingbird or Ray Bradbury. 😉

I think my worst blogging habit is finishing something in a hurry because I feel like I’ve been slacking off.

18. What is your favorite word?

I have a few. “Bespectacled” is one, probably because it describes me. Two others are “Visceral” and “Esoteric,” which I like not so much for what they mean as for how they sound. And you know that debate about the most beautiful phrase in the English language? Some, including J. R. R. Tolkien, believe it’s “Cellar door” while others contend that it’s “Summer’s day”? I hold that the most beautiful phrase in the English language is “Pearl necklace,” though that has just as much to do with the meaning as the sound. 🙂

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m not well-versed in all of the hierarchical subtleties between nerds, dorks, and dweebs, so I’m not sure how to answer this one. Which do you think I am?

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I’m going to steal Anjana’s answer for this one: “Fairies . . . why ? I guess I like anything better than vampires.”

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shape-shifters, because books and movies never do angels right.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits, I suppose, but only if they’re the nice, rascally kind like Charles Laughton in The Canterville Ghost. Why? Because Twilight made me sick to death of werewolves, that’s why.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Gorgons. 😉

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love

Forbidden love. I just don’t get love triangles.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Hmmm . . . I don’t think I’ve read a book that falls into either category, but I think if I had to pick one, it would be the former.

4 thoughts on ““The Ultimate Book Tag”

  1. You are definitely one of the more serious bloggers and I’m glad you took it up 🙂 I had no idea about the debate on best phrases ! But “Summer’s day” reminds me of the height of Indian summer which is quite scary 😀 So I’ll go with your selection, the “Pearl Necklace” !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, maybe I would like “Summer’s day” better if the summers in Louisiana weren’t 90 degrees with 1,000% humidity. Plus, “Pearl necklace” is prettier no matter how you look at it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

