Poem of the Week: “If I Can Stop One Heart from Breaking”

Hello! Sorry this week’s poem is a little late. I was on an involuntary internet fast while our ISP screwed its head back on. But here I am, and here’s the poem. This week’s is by Emily Dickinson, who seems to be a perennial favorite around here. 😉

“If I Can Stop One Heart from Breaking”

by Emily Dickinson

If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.

Source.

3 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: “If I Can Stop One Heart from Breaking”

  1. This is beautiful. It’s the first time I’ve read it, and I’m going to save it for future rereads. So many times, I wonder if my life is making a difference, or how I could make one. The world puts so much pressure on purpose and “mattering “; I love the gentleness of this poem. How simple and refreshing it is. Thank you for sharing! It is EXACTLY what I needed tonight.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I’m glad you liked it so much.

      I find this poem especially encouraging for writers, don’t you? Especially for people who write fiction and/or poetry, it’s easy for them to think that their work is pointless and that there are better things they could be doing. I like to think of this poem as saying that even if your work only comforts or helps one person, it’s still worthwhile.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

