I’m Just a Little Excited Today . . .

Harper Lee accepting the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2007. Via Wikimedia Commons.
Harper Lee accepting the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2007. Via Wikimedia Commons.

. . . because today, the publishing house Harper announced that Harper Lee is publishing a sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird.

Excuse me while I flail.

As you probably know if you’ve followed this blog for any length of time, I am a massive fan of Harper Lee and her masterpiece novel. I was lamenting to my sister just this morning that, with the exception of Lee, all of my favorite authors are dead and the only one who isn’t hasn’t published a book in fifty-five years! At last! “Yes, Virginia, there IS a Santa Claus!”

According to The New York Times, Lee’s new novel, titled Go Set a Watchman, was actually completed before To Kill a Mockingbird, but, acting on the advice of her editor, Lee set it aside to pursue Mockingbird instead. Though it was written before Mockingbird, this novel actually takes place in the years after Jem and Scout’s childhood, when an grown-up Scout goes back to Maycomb to visit her elderly father.

I just had a terrible thought: what if Atticus dies at the end of this book? I don’t think I’m ready for that. But I certainly am ready for July 14th (that’s Go Set a Watchman‘s release date, only three days after Mockingbird‘s fifty-fifth anniversary). I’m thinking of a line from Ray Bradbury’s “No Particular Night or Morning”: “My God, it’s a resurrection. ” Why yes, I suppose it is.

12 thoughts on “I’m Just a Little Excited Today . . .

    1. You know, I almost revised this post to get rid of “Yes, Virginia” because I didn’t think my followers in England, Australia, etc. would get it. But if you like it, it stays!

      Ah, yes. Bradbury makes anything cooler. B-)

      Like

Leave a reply.

