Bookish Links – January 2015

"The Reader" by Honore Daumier. Source: Art Wallpapers.com
“The Reader” by Honore Daumier. Source: Art Wallpapers.com

The first Bookish Links post of 2015! Anyway . . .

  • One of my pseudo-resolutions this year is to start reading Russian novels. A lot of you, it seems, have beat me to the punch, but if you’re one of the ones who’s still not convinced, here are five reasons why Russian books are cool (compiled by a person who has apparently read lots of them).
7 thoughts on “Bookish Links – January 2015

  1. I always love these round-ups! And thank you for the shout-out. 🙂

    For some reason, there’s something a little motivating about knowing that the likes of Fielding, Eliot, Faulkner, and Bronte worked day jobs in addition to writing.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I really loved that letter. 🙂

      Yeah, I always get the feeling about writers like that that they lived in some sort of ivory tower and did nothing but write. But turns out, they actually had lives outside of writing. I’ve read that Eliot actually liked his job at the bank and when Ezra Pound tried to convince him to give it up and write full time, he wouldn’t!

      Like

  2. I love your Bookish links posts, Hanna! And I am so, so honored to be featured in this one! Thank you a thousand times. You made my day! I can’t wait to check out all the rest of these readerly links. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply.

