9 Authors Whose Books I Want to Try

1: Victor Hugo

You'd have a headache too if you spent that much time writing.
Source: Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unlike a lot of classic lit. fans, I am not overly infatuated with Les Misérables. I started to read it, but only read a small portion of the book and I haven’t made it through the musical yet. But when I needed some advice about writing a death scene, I read the last chapters of Les Misérables, hoping for a good model to follow. It was so poetic, but at the same time, concise, almost austere. Like a combination of Ernest Hemingway and L. M. Montgomery. I’ve heard that Hugo can be dreary and long-winded, but I think he’s worth a try anyway. Though, maybe I’ll start with something shorter, like The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

2: Flannery O’Connor

Eight months ago, I thought Flannery O’Connor was an old man from Ireland. Now, nearly everything I read about books or literature mentions this decidedly young female author from Georgia. I suppose what draws me to O’Connor is the fact that she was able to write openly and honestly about her faith but she was such an expert author that even secular critics had to praise her. I would like to bring some of that to my writing, which is why I want to read her works. Plus, she wrote in the Southern Gothic genre, the same genre to which To Kill a Mockingbird belongs. I’ve been wanting to read more from that genre ever since reading TKM the first time.

3: Ernest Hemingway

I very narrowly escaped reading The Old Man and the Sea in eleventh grade (the curriculum was changed to assign To Kill a Mockingbird instead, a change which, of course, I am quite grateful for). To hear my fellow readers talk about him, Hemingway is apparently to literature what Alfred Hitchcock was to film. I’d like to see if I find him that brilliant.

4: Mark Twain

Image via Wikimedia Commons.
Image via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Because I really think I should read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn before it gets banned for good.

5: Thomas Wolfe

I know virtually nothing about this author. The only reason I added him to the list is because I am about to turn nineteen and according to Ray Bradbury, my unofficial writing mentor, Wolfe is a good author to read when you are nineteen.

6: G. K. Chesterton

Image via Wikimedia Commons.
Image via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I first heard about Chesterton sometime last year. In my Bible class at school, I was assigned to choose one of C. S. Lewis’s books on apologetics and write a paper about it. While doing research for the paper, I came across an article which mentioned that one of the authors who impacted Lewis the most was G. K. Chesterton. Not knowing who this Chesterton fellow was, I started reading up on him and found out that he was a nineteenth-century novelist, poet, and Christian apologist who was, in many ways, the prototype of Lewis. Since first hearing about Chesterton in that article, I’ve heard several famous writers and thinkers invoke the name of G. K. Chesterton, especially when listing favorite authors. I’ve been saying for nearly a year that I was going to read something by Chesterton, but to this day, I still haven’t managed to finish one of his books. I started to read The Man Who Was Thursday I-don’t-remember-when, but was quickly sidetracked by other books. I feel as though I’m not a true book geek at all because I still have never read anything by the man some consider one of the best writers who ever lived, so someday soon, I’ll have to try him.

7: Alexandre Dumas

Looks a lot like Chesterton, doesn't he? Image via Wikimedia Commons.
Image via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As in the case of many authors, I’ve seen the movies, but have never read the books. Dumas’s books sound quite different from my usual fare, so when I’m ready for a change of pace, I might try him.

8: Sir Walter Scott

Image via Wikimedia Commons.
Image via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Walter Scott is in the same boat as Dumas: his books are a far cry from the books I usually read, which makes me curious about them.

9: Elie Wiesel

I was one of the few high schoolers who graduated without having read Wiesel’s memoir Night. I intend to read this book some day, but having heard some of Wiesel’s speeches and lectures from the past, I think I would like to read some of his other works too (the less terrifying ones). Something about the way he speaks makes him seem as though he would be an interesting author. In some cases, you can tell that a person is a writer just by how they talk: they’re more original than most people; they aren’t afraid to say things that might come across as odd to the casual listener; they frame things in a way you would have never expected. Wiesel speaks much the same way, which makes me curious to see how he writes.

Have you read any of these authors? Did you like them? Who are the authors you haven’t tried yet but want to?

11 thoughts on “9 Authors Whose Books I Want to Try

  1. Quite recently I made a long list of classic books to read before the year was up. (I started May of this year so I still have time.) My current goal was to read 50 and I’m half-way there. A lot of the ones you named are on my list. “Les Miserables” is on my list but definitely ends up being on the far end of said list. The thought of it gives me anxiety because of how long it is. I want to read it though. The same goes for “War and Peace” by Leo Tolstoy.

    Anyway, I HAVE read some Ernest Hemingway books and I think he is a great author. I think I started with the wrong book of his to read because “The Old Man and the Sea” was good but I feel like I was on that boat for a lifetime with the old man. There were maybe a handful of things that happened over the course of the book. It didn’t move at a fast enough pace for me (just like fishing in real life!) I have a few of his other works on my list so I look forward to that.

    Some authors that I quite thoroughly enjoyed were Ayn Rand, Kurt Vonnegut (who is now one of my all-time favorite authors), Paulo Coelho, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and of course George Orwell is a fantastic writer. I want try more of these authors.

    At the moment, I am trying out some Alan Moore for size. Anyway, thank you for sharing this article. I love talking books. I feel that you get some of the best reads from other people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the post!

      I’ve read one book by Ayn Rand (her novella “Anthem”), but the rest of her books kind of intimidate me for the same reason Les Miserables does. They are sooo long. But I suppose I’ll have to try her again before long.

      I’ve been kind of curious about Kurt Vonnegut too, though the only novel of his I know of is “Slaughterhouse Five.” Is that good to start with?

      Like

      1. Oh yes, I read Anthem, and that’s when I came to the conclusion that I loved her as an author. It soon became one of my favorite books. I want to read The Fountainhead next but oh my! How long!

        You will enjoy Kurt Vonnegut I’m sure. I’ve read Slaughterhouse Five and Cat’s Cradle. Both are phenomenal but I quite enjoyed Cad’s Cradle more so. The aspects and details in the book are fascinating. Slaughterhouse-Five is really good, too, I’m just not one for war novels. I would read it again though, definitely!

        Like

  2. This is an excellent list! I really ought to read more classics.
    My best friend has been chipping away at Les Mis for the last year or so. I get updates from her, because I’m not likely to read the novel any time soon. There is apparently a long section about the battle of Waterloo.
    I’ve only read one short story by Flannery O’Connor, but she had such a way with words and moving a story along! I would definitely like to read more of her work.
    I started reading Tom Sawyer, but never did finish. I’m not a fan of Mark Twain, really, but I still would hate to see Huckleberry Finn get banned! It’s an American classic and part of history, after all.
    Thanks for sharing your list. It has inspired me to make one! 🙂

    Like

  3. Yeah, I probably won’t read Les Mis anytime soon either. There are plenty of other, shorter books on my list, so I’d like to get those done first. Plus, I hear Hugo has a thing for long digressive passages and I typically don’t care for those.

    Flannery O’Connor: that name is fun to say, isn’t it?

    I’ve actually tried Huck Finn before and didn’t stick with it, not because I disliked it, but because there were other things I was more interested in at the time. But I plan to read it eventually, if only so I can authoritatively argue against the ban. 😉

    Like

  4. Haha,you ‘very narrowly escaped’ Hemingway.That line made me smile!
    I’ve read only A Farewell to Arms from Hemingway.It was quite good,but not unforgettable and surely not the sort of work you expect from a Nobel Prize winner.I reckon that The Old Man and the Sea – which I have at home – and For Whom the Bell Tolls might be his best works.

    I don’t feel enticed at all to Victor Hugo’s works.The Hunchback of Notre-Dame and Les Miserables are huuuge,and there’s no way I’m going to read any of them soon.I remember when I was younger I tried to start reading The Hunchback of Notre-Dame,and it was a bad idea!

    And I’m definitely going to read Flannery O’Connor one day.To be honest,I’m eyeing her book in Folio edition which will take some time before going on sale.Same goes for Elie Wiesel’s Night.I have so many books on my wish list,that I tend to forget about it,even if it was among the first books I set myself to read.

    Finally,while Dumas is on your list,why not add the more flamboyant Flaubert?
    Dumas has quite a few well-known classics to his name.The Three Musketeers is apparently extremely good.Someone once told me that it is one of his extreme favourites! The Black Tulip too got somewhat rave reviews.And what about The Count of Monte Cristo? Everyone says it is a must read.

    Like

    1. I’ve heard that The Old Man and the Sea is really good, but other people say it’s really boring, so I’ll have to see for myself. 🙂

      I keep hearing that I have to read Les Miserables, but it’s so long and detailed that I think I’ll put it off for a while longer, if I ever read it. The Hunchback of Notre Dame, on the other hand, sounds pretty intriguing.

      I don’t really want to read Night, but I feel as though I should. The very fact that I want to avoid it makes me think I should read it, just so I can really come to terms with this very dark but very important part of history. However, some of Wiesel’s other books sound like things I might read just because they’re interesting. For instance, he has one book called Souls on Fire, which is about some of the famous legends and parables in Judaism. I might read that one some time.

      Yes, I might have to give Flaubert a try. I figured that whenever I started reading Dumas, The Count of Monte Cristo would be the first book that I try. Hmm, I’ve never heard of The Black Tulip. I’ll have to go look that up now.

      Like

Leave a reply.

