Liebster Award #2

Thank you, Sarah Rose from On Another Note for nominating me. And no, I did not forget about this award!

Before we begin, here are the rules which I was asked to display:

– Answer the 11 interview questions
– In that post, link back to the person who awarded you.
– Choose 11 other bloggers to award, focusing on those with 200 followers or below.
– Link to those bloggers in your post, then go and leave them comments to share the good news!
– Be sure to ask them 11 original questions.

Here we go:

What is the story behind your blog name?

I had fits trying to think of a blog name that A) was not already taken, B) didn’t sound corny, and C) was remotely original. Actually, it was my sister who suggested the name Book Geeks Anonymous. You would have to ask her where it comes from.

How long does it take you to write each post?

Usually, anywhere from ten minutes to two weeks. If its a simple post like a Poem of the Week post or a list-like article, I can dash that off pretty quick. However, some of my posts require research and for others, where it’s just me giving an opinion, I have to spend time to figure out how to best present that opinion. I’m a perfectionist writer, so oftentimes that post that took you five minutes to read took me days to complete.

Which blogging platform do you use? WordPress, Blogger, or something else entirely?

WordPress of course! I generally find WordPress blogs easier to navigate than Blogger blogs. Plus, WordPress has better-looking themes. 🙂

Do you prefer e-books or physical copies?

Physical copies to be sure. E-books are OK I suppose, and I do like the fact that some of the best books ever published are entirely free to you if you have an e-reader, but paper is easier on the eyes and easier for me to concentrate on. Plus, if all of my books were digital, I couldn’t have a big impressive library to admire!

What are five words to describe you?

Silly.

Odd.

Old-fashioned.

Shy.

Impetuous.

What are five different words to describe your blog?

Nerdy.

Not updated often enough. 😉

Do you keep a journal?

I used to. I kept a journal for several years, but when I was around sixteen I gave it up. I haven’t been able to get myself in the habit again since.

What are three of your other hobbies?

Jewelry making, crocheting, and old movie-watching (pretty much anything having to do with Alfred Hitchcock, Cary Grant, or Ingrid Bergman is good with me 🙂 ).

If you could visit any city in the world, which would you choose?

Can I cheat and pick three cities? Because I really want to go to Jerusalem, Paris, and Rome. They all appeal to the history lover in me, but Jerusalem seems especially intriguing in light of its spiritual and Biblical significance. I once heard a poet describe Jerusalem as a port on eternity’s shores: how many cities can claim a title like that?

Do you prefer dogs or cats?

Dogs. Definitely dogs.

Would you rather ask questions or answer them?

I would rather ask them, both because it spares me from having to come up with a good response and because I’m curious.


Now for my eleven questions:

Which decade of the twentieth century would you most like to live in?

What’s your favorite movie?

What book do you most regret reading?

What book are you most glad you read?

If you could meet one living author and one dead one, who would they be?

Do you research a book before reading it or just jump right in without knowing a thing about it?

Do you play any musical instruments? If so, which ones? If not, what do you wish you could play?

Name something (a device, a concept, a TV show, etc.) that you wish had never been invented.

Assuming you’re a writer, do you prefer to write with pen and paper or on a computer?

What is a quality in classic authors that you wish more modern authors would carry over into their works?

Why is a raven like a writing desk?


And now the nominees!

I know for a fact that some of these blogs don’t accept awards, but I’d like to get the word out about them anyway.

Ravens and Writing Desks.

Classical Dreamer.

The Resurgent Bookworm.

Vintage Novels.

The Wood Between the Worlds.

It’s Just Raquel.

Peppermint and Prose.

Videnda Magazine.

Rachel Coker.

Tea and Bree.

The Write Things.

7 thoughts on “Liebster Award #2

  1. I can’t begin to express how much I love your answers! They are brilliant. I’m forcing myself not to fill this comment with detailed replies to your replies, because there are so many conversations to be had! I do have to say, I almost included the question “Why is a raven like a writing desk?” So it made my night to see it on your list! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the award.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the nomination! That last question seems perfect for me 🙂

    Oh and I entirely agree with your physical book vs. e-book answer – those are exactly the reasons why I’d choose physical books anyday!

    And ROME! I was just there last summer. It is GLORIOUS and I hope you do get a chance to go. While you’re in the “neighborhood,” you might as well stop by in Venice if you can, since that place is handcrafted of pure magic.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! I can’t wait to see your answers. 🙂

      You’ve actually been to Rome? I’m so jealous! Venice sounds awesome too. For that matter, so does all of Italy.

      Like

Leave a reply.

