Library Sale!

Today was a grand, glorious day! I spent most of the afternoon at a book sale one of the main libraries in town was holding. Six books for fifteen dollars, and considering I recently spent thirty-five dollars on three books at Barnes and Noble, I’d say I cleaned up.

Now for the list:

1: The Help by Kathryn Stockett

My brother asked why I bought this book since I’ve already seen the movie twice and know how it ends, but I’ve always been able to enjoy a book even after having the movie spoil the ending for me. I’ve read the first few pages so far, and already, I’m hooked! Might I say, Aibileen is much more interesting in the book than she was in the movie.

2: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

It’s high time I read this book, and, because I loath the thought of reading such a long book on my Kindle app, I wanted a print version. In hindsight, I really should have inspected the book closer before I bought it: whoever used it before me apparently felt the need to smother the book in notes and highlighter marks, then end nearly every chapter with a chapter summary. Here’s some of the damage. Beware: it’s gruesome:

CAM00060

CAM00063

CAM00064Excuse me? You don’t write in a book and then give it away for someone else to use! That’s like walking into a movie theater so you can talk over the movie! Some people . . .

3: Chief Modern Poets of Britain and America, Volume II: Poets of America

I’m just here for Emily Dickinson and Robert Frost.

4: Ben Hur by Lew Wallace

This one has been on my To Be Read list for some time now, so when I saw it, I jumped on it.

5: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

It’s not my usual fare, but it came highly recommended by a reader and some other book bloggers, so I decided to give it a try (also, I’ve heard the author stirred up a controversy by supposedly portraying the Taliban too harshly. Translation: he had the guts to tell the world what radical Islam is really like. I’ll support that.)

6: Benjamin Franklin by Lindsay Swift

It doesn’t look like much: a small, thin book with a dirty blue cover and brown pages. But look what I found on the inside of the cover:

CAM00066

The copyright reads 1910, meaning this book was sent to soldiers serving in World War I! I also found this on a blank page in the back:Ben Franklin Book Notes

I can’t make long or short of it, but if any of you can read it, will you please let me know what it says? Thank you very much.

Leave a reply.

