Top Ten Tuesday: Places that Books Have Made Me Want to Visit

I generally don’t participate in Top Ten Tuesday because I usually can’t come up with a list long enough, but this week, the girls who run Broke and Bookish, which hosts the Top Ten Tuesdays meme, had my number. Without further ado . . .

1. Monroeville, Alabama

This should come as no surprise. 🙂 Monroeville is the hometown of To Kill a Mockingbird author Harper Lee and consequently, the inspiration behind Maycomb. I haven’t been there yet, but I have seen plenty of pictures from the area and the resemblance to Maycomb is striking. It’s all still there: the courthouse with the enormous clock tower, the courtroom with the soaring balconies, and even the office of Barnett, Bugg, Lee, and Carter, where Lee’s father, the inspiration for Atticus, used to work.

2. Oxford, England

This is Mecca for book geeks, particularly fans of the fantasy genre. Lewis Carroll, author of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, lived and worked here, as did C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. Honestly, I’m not going for Carroll and Tolkien’s sakes as much as for Lewis’s. His office at Magdalene College, where he taught English literature, is still there, as is his and Tolkien’s favorite pub, The Eagle and Child (known to the locals as The Bird and Baby). Those are two places I definitely have to see in Oxford.

3. Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Just like Monroeville inspired Maycomb, Cavendish inspired Avonlea. This was formerly the hometown of Anne of Green Gables‘s author, L. M. Montgomery. I’d like to go in the spring just so I can see if it’s as beautiful as Anne makes it sound. 🙂

4. Ashdown Forrest in East Sussex, England

This is the original Hundred Acre Wood!

5. Belfast, North Ireland

This is both the birthplace of C. S. Lewis and the inspiration behind Narnia’s landscape. Plus, I love old castles and churches and Ireland has plenty of both!

6. Washington, D.C.

When I was younger I was obsessed with presidential history. For a long time, I read nothing but history books, and more often than not, they were about presidents. Even now, I would still love to see the White House, the Capitol, the National Archives, and the Library of Congress.

7. Virginia

When I was about thirteen or so, the history of the American Revolution supplanted presidential history as my new obsession. I’d love to go to Virginia because it was not only the scene of some of the most important events in the Revolution, but also the birthplace of several of its leaders, people like George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Patrick Henry, George Wythe, Richard Henry Lee, etc. etc.

8. Stratford-on-Avon, England

I’ve been told there’s not much to see in Shakespeare’s hometown, but I’m curious anyway.

9. England in General

The high number of books I have read (and book adaptations I have seen) that take place in England have given me a general curiosity about the place. London, Oxford, the countryside, I’d like to see it all.

10. Israel

As the scene of nearly every major event in the Biblical record, I would love to see Israel, particularly Bethlehem, Galilee, and Jerusalem.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Places that Books Have Made Me Want to Visit

Leave a reply.

