The Liebster Award

I’d like to thank Phoebe at Thoughts on Books for nominating me!

Here are the rules:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • Post 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions set by your nominator.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers with under 200 followers (you can’t nominate the person who nominated you).
  • Set 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Let your nominees know you’ve nominated them.

OK, here are eleven facts about Sara Lewis:

1. Sara Lewis is not my real name. I didn’t want to give out my real name on the internet so I made up a name.

2. The name “Sara” comes from Sara Crewe, the heroine of A Little Princess (formerly my favorite book), and Lewis is after the author C. S. Lewis.

3. I’m homeschooled and I absolutely love it!

4. I adore classic films. As far as I’m concerned, all the best movies were made in either the 30’s, 40’s, or 50’s.

5. Isaiah 41:10 is currently my favorite verse in the Bible:

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

6. I’m probably the only student/writer in the world who doesn’t like coffee (not even with milk, sugar, and chocolate syrup in it).

7. When I was younger, I wanted to run for president. I even set aside some money in a little tin coin bank for my “campaign fund.”

8. I’ve taken dance lessons nearly every year since I was five years old. My favorite is between ballet and lyrical. (This is lyrical, by the way).

9. About 30% of the jewelry I own I made myself.

10. If I ever go to Hollywood, the actor I most want to run into is Robert Duvall, not because I like him or his movies very much, but so I can say “Hey, Boo” to him and see how he reacts.

11. My favorite color is and always has been purple.


Here are the questions that Phoebe asked her nominees:

1. Do you still live where you grew up?

Yes. I’ve lived in a little town near New Orleans for my entire life.

2. What is your favorite aspect of book blogging (or blogging in general!)?

That would probably be finding people who enjoy the same things I do. You won’t believe how thrilled I was last month when I got into a conversation with a commenter about Ray Bradbury!

3. If you could pick one scent to smell for the rest of your life, what would it be?

I really love the smell of gardenias, but would I get tired of that after a while? Probably not. 🙂

4. Are you a morning or evening person? 

Evening person, definitely.

5. If you could bring back one person from the past, who would it be?

Oh, there are so many people from the past I’d love to meet, but I think I would pick Thomas Jefferson, both because I think the twenty-first century could use his brand of genius and because he was cool.

6. Favorite subject at school/college?

History, but English is a very close second. I quite enjoy French too.

7. Have you ever had any pets?

When I was about four or five, I had three goldfish: Pip, Pop, and Bear (after characters from my favorite TV show). But sadly, their gluttony was the end of them; we were going on a week-long vacation, so my father had installed a little feeder in their tank that was supposed to hold two weeks worth of food. They ate all the food in one week. When we got back, they were belly up. 😦

8. Ever broken a bone? 

Yep! I broke my collar bone when I was about six.

9. Favorite app?

I guess it’s my Kindle app. I still think print books are far superior, but I do like the idea of getting some of the best books in the world for free from Gutenberg. 🙂

10. Dog or a cat person? 

I’m not really a “dog person,” but I do like dogs better than cats.

11. Describe your dream house.

Do you have time? 🙂

It will be a two story Victorian-style house with a little tower on top, kind of like the one on this house. I want at least four bedrooms (including the master bedroom), a media room, a huge library with floor-to-ceiling bookshelves, and a porch that wraps all the way around the house. I even have paint colors picked out for most of the rooms, but I don’t want to bore you. 🙂


And now for the nominees!

Exploring Classics

Hope Writer

Inkcouragement

The Resurgent Bookworm

Living on Literary Lane

A Lantern in Her Hand

To Draw a Mockingbird

Then Matters Now

Inklings Press

Books Unlimited

A Butcher, a Baker, and a Candlestick Maker

I know for a fact that some of these blogs don’t accept awards, but I just wanted to get the word out about them anyway.


And here are my questions:

1. You’re starting a new TV station and you get to decide what kinds of shows/movies it plays. What kinds of things would you choose?

2. How do you think you would fare on a wagon train heading West circa 1850? Would you die during the first cold snap? Would you be the leader of the group?

3. When you watch a movie that’s based on a book, do you have to point out all the differences between the two?

4. Name a book or author that everyone loves, but that you can’t stand.

5. What do you think of poetry? Do you love it, hate it, or treat like a Whitman’s Sampler (picking out the things you like and ignoring the things you don’t)?

6. If you had to pick a book to reread every year for the rest of your life, what would it be?

7. What is the oldest movie you have ever seen?

8. Here’s a hard question: what is your favorite song?

9. Can you speak, read, or write in more than one language? Which ones?

10. Do you prefer to write with a pen and paper or on a computer (or on a typewriter if you are lucky enough to have one)?

11. When it comes to trendy books (things like The Hunger Games, The Book Thief, etc.), do you usually read them before, while, or after they are trendy?

Thanks again, Phoebe! This was fun.

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Great questions ! 🙂 here are some random answers
    1. thrillers, music channels and lifestyle shows
    8. Too hard but will probably only be Indian – don’t listen to Western all that much
    9. 2 Indian languages + English
    10. Always pen and paper 🙂
    11. Trends ? What trends ? 😉 I am too late to pick up on such things
    and finally
    4.Harry Potter *runs away*

    Like

Leave a reply.

