A Classics Questionnaire

I picked this questionnaire up from Fariba at Exploring Classics. She runs a really cool blog so you should definitely go read it (when you’re finished here, of course 🙂 ). Now for the questions!

1. What is your favorite classic, and why do you consider it a classic?

There are plenty of classics that I love to death, but I would have to say that my favorite is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. It’s a classic because it speaks more truth in 323 pages than some people speak in their entire lives. It talks about love, justice, courage, family, faith, and dozens of other topics, yet it still remains one unified story. And what a story it is! It seems rather simple on the surface, but once you get into it, you’re hooked until the end! I think the truth of TKM is timeless, which makes it a classic.

2. What is your favorite classic genre?

I don’t really know. I like coming-of-age stories like Anne of Green Gables and I like love stories like Rilla of Ingleside too, but I’m not really sure what my favorite genre is.

3. Which character in a classic work can you relate to the most?

I’ve always felt rather close to Sara Crewe from Frances Hodgson Burnett’s A Little Princess (by the way, she is the reason why I picked the pen name Sara!). I know some people consider A Little Princess rather saccharine, but I loved it when I was a kid and even now, I feel that I can relate to Sara. She likes to think, she likes to be by herself, and she loves to read: sounds a lot like me!

4. What month-long classics book challenges (other the 50 Classics Book Challenge) would you be interested in doing this year?

None of them. I hate giving myself (or worse, having someone else give me!) a set reading list because I can never stick to a schedule when reading and if I fell behind, I would have to rush through the books to finish them in time, something I definitely do not want to do. I think books ought to be savored, which is why I don’t stick to schedules.

5. Who is your favorite classic author?

I’m so torn! Do I pick Harper Lee because To Kill a Mockingbird is the best novel in the world or L. M. Montgomery because I adore Anne Shirley and have read more books by Montgomery than any other author? Let’s go with both. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Classics Questionnaire

  1. I discovered Anne of Green Gables only this year. I never thought I would enjoy it but I did. I agree wholeheartedly that the Anne of Green Gables series is fabulous! I really need to reread To Kill a Mockingbird sometime.

    Like

    1. I first read Anne of Green Gables when I was about twelve after my grandmother gave it to me for Christmas. That was one of the best Christmas presents ever! As for To Kill a Mockingbird, I’ve already read it twice, but I think I might have to read it again sometime, just because. 🙂

      Like

Leave a reply.

