Ray Bradbury Is the Coolest

Rejoice, book geeks! It’s the birthday of one of my favorite authors, Ray Bradbury!

It’s a shame, I know, but I never really paid attention to Bradbury until I began seeing his obituary on the internet. I was never a big sci-fi fan (I’m still not a big sci-fi fan), so I never saw any use for him until about two years ago when, in one of those obituaries, I read that he was the author of Fahrenheit 451, a novel about a bleak dystopian future where fireman are paid to burn books. At the time, the novel sounded mildly interesting, so eventually, I went to the library and checked it out (because I wasn’t yet sure if I wanted to spend money on it). But after being so skeptical of Bradbury, I soon found out that he is one of the best and smartest writers to ever put ink to paper. Fahrenheit 451 was great in and of itself, but I wound up loving the author even more than his book: the way he thought about the world, the way he charted his own path, and the passion he showed for writing all blew me away. The longer I go on, the more it seems as if God is yanking my sleeve and telling me to be a writer; in that case, I hope I can be one like Ray Bradbury, a writer who wasn’t afraid to say what needed to be said, who was completely in love with his job, and who could inspire the whole world with his ideas.

Today is also the perfect opportunity to show you this video I found a while ago of a lecture Bradbury gave at a university back in 2001. In the lecture, he talks about his favorite authors, how one should go about learning to write, and all sorts of fun, nerdy stuff like that. Go ahead and take a listen.


And just because I’m nosy . . .

5 thoughts on “Ray Bradbury Is the Coolest

    1. Same here! I’ve only read Fahrenheit 451 so far, but just that alone was enough to make me love him. And the Coda at the end! I wish more authors thought the way Bradbury did.

      Like

      1. I thought I was the only one who hasn’t read all his books yet. It’s a shame, really. Haha if every author thought and wrote like him, the industry would be even more competitive. Still, there’s plenty of bad writing out there and not enough awesomeness. 🙂

        Like

        1. Agreed! And it’s not just his writing that I wish people would emulate but his attitude toward writing as well. For him, the whole point of writing was to say what needed to be said, either for your own sake or for other people’s. He said himself one time that ideas fascinate him and if a piece of writing doesn’t deal in ideas, he won’t touch it. That’s what we need to get back to: getting good ideas out there and telling the truth no matter what.

          Like

        2. I feel the same way. Attitude, especially in writing, is everything. I love his philosophy and the way he approached writing in general. To me he always said what needed to be said, no more and no less. That isn’t an easy thing to do. Mhmm I think we all need to be reminded of that last statement more often.

          This reminds me of a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt, “Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” Bradbury was certainly a great mind.

          Like

Leave a reply.

