The A to Z Bookish Survey

I couldn't find a picture to suit the post, but I thought this one from Public Domain Archive was pretty.
I couldn’t find a picture to suit the post, but I thought this one from Public Domain Archive was pretty. 🙂

This is a little questionnaire I found over at a blog called The Resurgent Bookworm. She got it from Brown Paper and that person got it from The Perpetual Page Turner, making me the fourth person to add this to my blog. Let’s see how it goes!


Author you’ve read the most books from:

Image: Wikimedia Commons
Image: Wikimedia Commons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

L. M. Montgomery. Gotta love Anne Shirley, right?


Best Sequel Ever:

Anne of Avonlea, the sequel to Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. I thought that one was almost as good as the original!


Currently Reading:

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I’ve heard wonderful things about this book and after doing a little research on Amazon, it looked like it would be right up my alley, so I decided to give my other books a rest and try this one. This is why I can never finish a book! :-!


Drink of Choice While Reading:

Who worries about drinks while they are reading? 🙂


E-reader or Physical Book?

antique-books

 

 

 

 

 

 

Physical books all the way. I like the fact that some of the best books ever written are completely free to everyone who has an e-reader (and believe me, I take advantage of that quite often myself), but somehow, it’s just not the same. I can’t pay attention to an electronic book as long as I can to a print book, and besides that, e-readers hurt my eyes.


Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

How about Walter Blythe from Rilla of Ingleside?


Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. At first, I didn’t think I would like it since it was about a rape trial, and because in my experience, the books that critics praise the most are usually the ones I enjoy the least. But this one time, it looks like the critics were right! TKM was fantastic!


Hidden Gem Book:

The Addy series by Connie Porter. This is one of the American Girl book sets and technically children’s literature, so it’s surprising how powerful these books are. In case you don’t know the story, Addy is a slave girl from 1860’s North Carolina who runs away to Philadelphia with her mother. Throughout the six books, Addy tries to reunite her family members, who were scattered by slave dealers and the Civil War. Even though the books are written for kids, you still get an honest picture of how terrible slavery and discrimination were. You also get to see Addy and her family do some pretty amazing things for each other. Addy blows all of the other American Girls completely out of the water!


Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Image: Project Gutenberg
Image: Project Gutenberg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When my grandmother gave me A Little Princess. That’s what got me interested in classic novels, and now, those are almost the only kinds of novels I read!


Just Finished: 

To Kill a Mockingbird (for the second time).


Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: 

Graphic novels and certain types of fantasy novels (Harry Potter, etc.).


Longest Book You’ve Read:

Image: Wikimedia Commons
Image: Wikimedia Commons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

John Adams by David McCullough. 752 pages, baby! I thought it was quite an accomplishment, but I’m sure some of you out there can probably devour 752 pages in a few days, right?


Major book hangover because of: 

TKM! I’m still just as obsessed as the day I finished it the first time!


Number of Bookcases You Own: 

One. And it’s tiny. It barely has any books on it because I put so much other garbage on there.


One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I’ve only read it cover-to-cover once, but I’ve read Anne of Green Gables so many times, the spine is peeling off.


Preferred Place To Read:

In bed. On weekends, I’m often awake for hours before I actually get out of bed!


Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“The world will need laughter and courage more than ever in the years that will come next . . . . Tell your children of the Idea we fought and died for—teach them that it must be lived for as well as died for, else the price paid for it will have been given for nought . . . . Do it, then we who do not come back will know that you have not ‘broken faith’ with us.”

Rilla of Ingleside by L. M. Montgomery, Chapter 23


Reading Regret:

That I waited until after Ray Bradbury died to read his books. If I had known I liked him before he passed, I could have nursed the fantasy of getting to meet him one day!


Series You Started And Need To Finish:

The Chronicles of Narnia. I’m three books in already and working on a fourth.


Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

You can probably tell by now, but . . .

To Kill a Mockingbird

Anne of Green Gables

Rilla of Ingleside


Unapologetic Fangirl For:

To be honest, Atticus Finch! If he were a real person, I’d marry him in a heartbeat. 😉


Very Excited For This Release:

Uhhhh . . . I don’t read a whole lot of new books and when I do, I usually don’t hear about them until they’ve been released already. :-/ Sorry.


Worst Bookish Habit:

Starting a new book while I’m already knee-deep in six others!


X Marks The Spot (Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book):My books aren’t really on a shelf; they’re in a pile next to my bed, so I’ll just randomly pick up books and name the twenty-seventh book I grab.

Done! It was The C. S. Lewis Signature Classics (which I have only read a small chunk of).


Your latest book purchase:

The Book Thief.


ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Same! A few nights ago, I was up til 2 AM reading that book! Pretending to be Jesse Owens. XD You crack me up, Rudy.

4 thoughts on “The A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. In my final year of highschool, Zusak decided to come to our school library to work on his books and I spent so many afternoons talking to him (instead of studying). Very friendly & talented guy. I am sure you’ll enjoy ‘The Book Thief’ – its a gem 🙂

    Like

Leave a reply.

